Skip to main content

Shakespeare Bach

And the seven ages of life

“We are such stuff as dreams are made on”

An actor and a cellist duet to offer the audience the pleasure of listening to the words and music of two giants. Verses from the English poet’s masterpieces alternate with suites for solo cello by the German composer, universally regarded as the ultimate expression of ingenuity and beauty.

The ages of life are the leitmotif of the show: the lives of Shakespeare and his characters but also our own, because these characters are a mirror in which each of us can recognize ourselves.

Hamlet, Romeo, Juliet, Othello, Jago, Shylock, King Lea give voice to our feelings.

Bach’s music gives voice to our soul.


William Shakespeare (1564 – 1616)

Excerpts from:

  • As you like it – Jacques monologue
  • Romeo and Juliet – Romeo monologue
  • Henri V – Prologue
  • Hamlet – Hamlet monologue
  • Othello – Othello – Jago dialogue
  • The merchant of Venice Shylock monologue
  • King Lear – King Lear monologue
  • The tempest – Prospero monologue

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750)

Suites for unaccompanied cello:

  • Prelude II
  • Sarabande III
  • Gigue I
  • Sarabande V
  • Gigue II
  • Minuet I
  • Sarabande II
  • Prelude I

Actor and director: Christian Poggioni
Unaccompanied cello: Irina Solinas

Richiedi informazioni